wicker or wing back?

While I’m not quite ready to take down the Christmas tree (in fact, I haven’t even finished writing about Christmas yet — Christmas Eve feast and Greta’s gift posts coming soon!), I have started thinking about redesigning that little corner of my apartment once the evergreen is gone.

Inspired by Apartment Therapy’s reading nook roundup and how-to posts, I’ve decided a cozy little library corner is the perfect solution.  After doing some online hunting for both aesthetic inspiration and armchairs, I’ve narrowed my starting point down to two options.

Option 1: Wicker

Option 2: Wing back

I love the warm, burnt-orange color of this wing back chair I found on Craigslist, but it’ll cost 2 or 3 times as much.  (At $80, I think it’s still a steal, though I won’t be able to see it in person to determine if that’s actually the case until Friday.)  Regardless of whether I get the chair, I think I’ll use this shade in the project.  Most everything else in my apartment is earthy and neutral, so a pop of color in that corner would be definitely be eye catching.

The wing back chair clearly has more character as a starting piece, so that’s a big pro.  In addition to the cost, other cons include the fact that I think it will be harder to design around and trickier to transport.  I’m torn between the two, so insight is much appreciated.

2 responses to “wicker or wing back?

  1. If you are going for a comfy reading corner the burnt orange will serve that purpose better. I sold wicker for 5 years and never found it comfortable no matter how many pillows you add.

  2. Since I know you’re dying to know, wing back won. Got him today, and he’s looking mighty handsome. Have some fun ideas for redoing that little corner, so I’ll post more as it progresses.

Leave a Reply

