winter racing

Finally got around to recapping a couple of winter races I ran (as well as one I missed) over on the Pavement Pounding page.

With just under three weeks left until the Huntington Beach 1/2, I’m starting to feel a little bit nervous about finishing in under 2 hours.  After the NJ 1/2 in September, I thought shaving 5 minutes off my time would be a breeze.  Now that I’ve reached the half-way mark in my training routine, I’m wondering if I’ve allowed myself enough weeks to actually impact my overall pace.  I officially started training for the February race on January 2nd, which is, admittedly, three or four weeks later than I had planned.  Holiday festivities, mountains of snow, and a lazy vacation mind-set all contributed to the procrastination.

I finally came up with the following 5-week training schedule, adjusted from a Runner’s World plan in their July 2010 issue.  Part of the original, 10-week schedule is available here.  Of the 4 weekly runs, 2 are key to improving time.  Sunday is a long, slow run, which builds endurance, while the Thursday tempo run teaches you to maintain speed over a set distance.

  • Week 1: 7 miles @ 10 mins (Sunday); 6 miles @ 9:30 mins (Tuesday); 5 miles, 3 @ 8:45mins (Thursday); 5 miles @ 9:30 mins (Friday) Total Mileage: 23
  • Week 2: 8 miles @ 10 mins (Sunday); 6 miles @ 9:30 mins (Tuesday); 6 miles, 4 @ 8:50mins (Thursday); 5 miles @ 9:30 mins (Friday) Total Mileage: 25
  • Week 3: 9 miles @ 10 mins (Sunday); 6 miles @ 9:30 mins (Tuesday); 6 miles, 4 @ 8:45mins (Thursday); 5 miles @ 9:30 mins (Friday) Total Mileage: 26
  • Week 4: 11 miles @ 9:54 mins (Sunday); 6 miles @ 9:15 mins (Tuesday); 7 miles, 4 @ 8:50mins (Thursday); 5 miles @ 9:15 mins (Friday) Total Mileage: 26
  • Week 5: 11 miles @ 9:48 mins (Sunday); 5 miles @ 9:15 mins (Tuesday); 5 miles, 3 @ 8:45mins (Thursday); 3 miles @ 9:00 mins (Friday) Total Mileage: 24

I’ve been pretty diligent about getting all 4 runs in each week, though I’ve had to shuffle certain workouts around due to weather and vacation.  Today, for example, was my third long run.  I hit 9 miles at about 9:22 a minute, which is actually pretty good considering pauses for pedestrians, traffic lights, etc.  To break the 2-hour mark, I’ll need to be running at about 9:09 for 13.1 miles.

Here’s to hoping that three more weeks of training, combined with race-day adrenaline and family members cheering at the sidelines will close that gap.

One response to “winter racing

  1. Pingback: one weekend, 23 miles « MetalFirecracker·

Leave a Reply

