scenes from the past three months

Here’s a list of things that have certainly not happened on a regular basis over the past three months: blogging, running.

Here’s a list of things that have been non-stop for the past three months: crossing items off the bucket list, making serious progress towards the California move, lots of adventuring and vacations (both planned and impromptu), binging on awesome television series, and spending quality time with wonderful people.

Too vague for you?  How about a quick recap, photo style.

A good chunk of April was devoted to post-breakup eating and drinking, as my best friend Stacy went through a pretty unexpected split at the end of March. Friends don’t let friends wallow alone. Fast forward three months – Stacy is on the up and up, loving life.

Comfort food in Cold Spring, NY.

In May, my Mom flew out from California to celebrate her birthday and Mother’s Day in NYC. We feasted at Colicchio and Sons, shopped at Eataly, and hit up the Bronx Botanical Gardens. All in all, it was one of my favorite visits with my mom over the past 10 years I’ve been here.

Bronx Botanical Gardens Gift Shop Browsing

I plowed through the first season of Homeland, and two seasons each of Game of Thrones and Downton Abbey. I think Cop could star in Dogton Abbey, don’t you?

Do(g)wager Countess

Many items have been crossed off the Bucket List, but only one involved another country – a Memorial Day trip to Niagara Falls with Stacy and Joanna.  And, of course, Shorty and Cop.

Oh, Canada!

After about a zillion calls/emails to my dad in a two-week period, I made the most adult purchase of my life when I bought this (like) new car on June 11th. She’s a 2011 Hyundai Elantra Touring with about 3,000 miles on her and will be known as the Trez Mobile until a more permanent name sticks.  Buying a car was one of the most stressful and exciting experiences I’ve ever had, and now I’m one giant step closer to the California move.

The Trez Mobile

I followed up the most responsible purchase I’ve ever made by a string of much less responsible purchases like the one pictured below.  A group of us headed down to New Orleans for Stacy’s bachelorette 30th birthday party.  A grand, if not entirely sober, time was had by all.

Why, yes, that’s a gallon full of alcoholic slushy product.

Less than a week after the NOLA trip, The Guy, the Trez mobile, and I trekked out to Long Island, where we rented a house with my college friends.  The trip was the perfect way to mark a decade (!) of friendship with such an amazing group of people, and served as a bit of a farewell celebration before I head out in August.

Beach Bums

We now return to our regularly scheduled (hopefully) real-time blogging.

Leave a Reply

